Unknownstar’s Weblog

Dyeing experiment…..Spiral tie dyeing fiber

Posted on: March 31, 2009

I have had a few days of being completely run down and unwell (no surprise there) but feeling much better yesterday morning I seemed to be able to get an awful lot done in one day. I cleaned, hoovered, tidyed up and even found time for some dyeing.
Over on Ravelry there is a dye along, with the theme of spiral dyeing, some people knew what this was, but having no clue I googled it. The amount of tie dye videos really inspired me (I should have been a hippy) so this seemed the natural way for me to go with this dyeing experiment.

After I soaked my fiber in water and vinegar, I rolled the fiber up into a spiral, and used some plain handspun to tie it up in a few places
P1030788
I had already mixed up the dyes I was going to use, of yellow, red and blue so they were all ready for my little experiment.
P1030795
P1030801
P1030803
I dipped the spiral of fiber into each of the colours, and let it soak for a few minutes, before dipping into the next colour. I re-dipped into the red after the blue as the colour was quite pale in comparison, and I wanted a deeper colour.
P1030808
This is what it looked like before I steamed it, I gave it alittle squidge to try and blend the dyes alittle.
P1030813
Here is what I ended up with after it had been steamed, now it has been soaked and dried over night I am quite happy with my results, although I still have a fair bit of white throughout the fiber (I quite like this effect) if I do this again I think I will let the fiber sit in the dye for longer so it hopefully soaks up more of the dye
P1030815
And here is what it looks like braided up, you can see the amount of undyed fiber more here, but I really like the effect, and will definetly try this again.
P1030816

1 Response to "Dyeing experiment…..Spiral tie dyeing fiber"

lovely tutorial, I just adore the shape of the parcel of yarn. You are a hippy aren’t you? I am a flower fairy!

Leave a comment

March 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Flickr Photos

RSS Squishy Stars

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.